Historical Background

The Faculty of Applied Science and Technology is one of the oldest at STU. At the on-set of the then Sunyani Polytechnic in 1997, it was initially made up of the Departments: Hotel Catering and Institutional Management; Painting and Decorating, and Furniture Craft/Carpentry & Joinery.

Overtime some of these Departments have been re-aligned to other faculties to achieve set academic and institutional objectives. In one of these realignment stages, the Department of Liberal and General Studies was once affiliated to the Faculty of Applied Science and Technology. Currently the

Faculty of Applied Science and Technology is made up of five (5) Departments namely:



The mission of the Faculty is to provide human capacity in applied sciences to meet the middle and higher level manpower needs of academia and industry.



The general vision of the Faculty is tied to that of the STU, however specifically we are committed to the provision of career focused education that targets industrial and professional needs in information technology, agriculture and agricultural mechanization, hospitality and tourism, health sciences and applied mathematics.

The Faculty of applied Science & Technology attracts and trains students and scholars from local and neighbouring countries who are willing to pursue and generate knowledge for the world of work.

 Our curricular are developed in collaboration with industry and other academic institutions around the world which makes our graduates competitive on the job market.

These are achieved through directed faculty recruitment where we select experienced and distinguished staff in teaching, research and community service. The Faculty adopts hands-on training of students using internships and facilities at the production units, workshops and laboratories.

Administration of the Faculty.

The office of the Dean of the Faculty of Applied Science & Technology is located on the 3rd floor of the K.T. Djang-Fordjour Block. The Dean Dr. Henry Ofosuhene Sintim is assisted by the Vice Dean Mr. Felix Adu-Tutu and administrative staff at the Dean’s secretariat, Departments and Programmes

The Faculty has four academic Departments offering one Bachelor of Technology (B. Tech), five Higher National Diploma (HND) and five (4) certificate programmes. Other pre-tertiary programs including Pre-HND are also being offered.


The programmes and certificates are:

ü  Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech.) Hospitality and Tourism

ü  HND Hotel Catering & Institutional Management

ü  HND General Agriculture

ü  HND Computer Science

ü  HND Information & Communication Technology (ICT)

ü  HND Pharmacy Technician

ü  Advanced Cookery (8122)

ü  COTVET Cookery

ü  COTVET Agric. Mechanic Works

ü  Certificate in Computer Applications (affiliated Institute)


Prerequisites for higher programs

ü  Pre-HND Hotel Catering & Institutional Management

ü  Pre-HND General Agriculture

ü  Pre-HND Computer Science

ü  Pre-HND Pharmacy Technician


The Departments:

Department of Hospitality and Tourism

The Department of Hospitality and Tourism has facilities such as: State of the art Kitchen, Restaurant and Guest Centres which are available for practical training of students. The Department runs the following programmes: Bachelor of Technology in Hospitality Management and HND Hotel Catering & Institutional Management. Other programmes which are non-tertiary include Pre-HND Hotel Catering & Institutional Management, Advanced Cookery- 8122, and COTVET Cookery


Department of General Agriculture

The Department of General Agriculture has a research and production farm and a laboratory. The Department runs HND programme in General Agriculture which includes courses in Post-Harvest Technology, Crop Science, Animal Science, Agro-Forestry and Horticulture

The Non-Tertiary programmes include COTVET Agricultural Mechanics Works in collaboration with the Faculty of Engineering


 Department of Computer Science

The Department of Computer Science has well equipped computer laboratories. In the interim it houses the new Department of Statistics & Mathematics. The Department of Computer Science runs the following programs HND Computer Science, HND Information & Communication Technology (ICT). Pre-HND Computer Science and COTVET Computer Science are non-tertiary programmes at the Department.


 Department of Pharmacy Technician

The Department of Pharmacy Technician has access to well-equipped laboratories for training of students and collaborates with health institutions and professional bodies. The Department runs HND and Pre-HND programs in Pharmacy Technician.