Building and Technology Department
    Electrical and Electronic Department
    Mechanical Engineering Department

Historical Background

The school of Engineering is one of the schools in the Polytechnic that has gone through a lot of transition. It started with an interim Dean just after the upgrading in 1996/97 with three departments and three sections. The departments were Building, Electrical and Mechanical with Furniture craft / Carpentry and Joinery (FC/CJ) as well as Painting and Decorating (P/D) as sections under Building Department whiles Auto was under Mechanical Department.

In 1998 the school was re-organised with the view to improving upon it. This re-organisation dismembered the School by upgrading P&D and FC/CJ to departmental status and placed under the school of Applied Science and Technology thereby trimming the Building Department. In 1999, the two departments, Furniture Craft / Carpentry and Joinery and Painting and Decorating were moved from school of Applied Science back to the School of Engineering. Unfortunately due to poor enrolment and other challenges, three Departments namely; FC/C&J, P& D and Mechanical Departments were reduced to the status of sections and placed under Building and Electrical Departments respectively. However, the school is doing everything humanly possible to revert the three sections to Department status by 2010

Mission Statement

The mission of the school is to equip students with technical/technological knowledge and skills so that they would be able to cope with demands of modern technology in industry and the middle and higher level manpower needs of the country.


The objectives of the school are to:
- Provide conducive and excellent environment for teaching, learning and research activities
- Offer career – focused engineering related programmes, tailored to meet the nation’s need.
- Provide students with the entrepreneurial and practical training so that they can be self – employed

Departments & Sections

The school is headed by a Dean and assisted by an administrative support staff.
There are two departments and three Sections with Mr  Frimpong Kyeremeh as dean of the school.
1. Building Department have under it two sections namely:

  • Painting and Decorating
  • Furniture Craft & carpentary & joinery

2. Electrical Electronic Engineering Department have under it one section thus:

  • Mechanical Engineering

Production Units

The school plans to establish production units in all the departments and sections. Currently the
Building Department has taken the lead and is in the process of establishing a Concrete and Block Manufacturing Unit. The facility when complete is going to be the first unit to open the Sunyani Construction Industry to Highdrophone blocks which make construction cheaper compare to Sandcrete blocks.


Looking at the current growth, it is envisaged that the school would be transform into Technology Collage with two schools namely the School of Engineering and the School of Built Environment.